Impasto Sunflowers, Oil Paintings

Though, some of you have already seen these two paintings, I originally posted them right when I started this blog and therefore they received little to no audience. The first one, Fiery Sunflower, is my personal favourite. Now that I have a wonderful audience which (I’m very grateful) is growing every day, I felt compelled to bring this piece up again.

Fiery Sunflower was the first of my paintings that ever sold as a print and it was my first attempt at palette knife painting. I love this technique. For me, it proves to be a very enjoyable and somewhat liberating experience. I love the way the palette knife allows for thick texture. It seems to bring the image to life somehow, don’t you think?

The second, Cool Sunflower On A Sunny Day, was just to see if I could recreate the same effect using opposite colours, complementing the first. Love the bright colour in this one.

Fiery Sunflower - Impressionist Oil Painting

Fiery Sunflower

Cool Sunflower On A Sunny Day - Impressionist Oil Painting

Cool Sunflower On A Sunny Day

Purchase canvas and framed prints at Eva-Kondzialkiewicz.ArtistWebsites.com

Photography Prints

Previous Post
Leave a comment

36 Comments

  1. I really love your flower paintings Eva…I keep wanting to say to you, HERE, take this photo please and make it into a beautiful painting. You do so much that is beautiful. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • You are so amazing! Thank you so very much!!!! I wish I could paint more ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
    • Carol, I would absolutely LOVE to paint one of your amazing photographs! I’m so honoured. The way you capture flowers is breathtaking ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • Eva, if you ever see anything in my photos that you’d like to paint…PLEASE, take it and paint! I would love to see that! Anything that’s in there is all yours my friend. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re a great photographer yourself, but please consider mine yours for the taking as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • That’s a great complement! I will definitely choose one of yours soon. Thank you again ๐Ÿ™‚

      • ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Amazing work! I love the vibrant colors ~ At what age did you “KNOW” you were an artist? Or did you always know? paula

    Reply
    • Thank you, Paula!

      Hm, good question. Honestly? I first thought of myself as ‘artistic’ when realized I could draw at around 12 years old. My mom thought I should draw a portrait, and I when I did, I really surprised myself. But I never really felt like an ‘artist’ until just recently. Feels great, finally ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • Isn’t it cool to know it’s always been in there….you just had to figure it out? I keep thinking I’ll find something hidden in me….but so far….it’s only cellulite! ๐Ÿ˜‰
        You are awesome….press on โ™ฅ

      • You are so funny ๐Ÿ˜€ Thank you for all your kind encouragement. I’m really enjoying connecting with you and appreciate your words very much.

      • Same here, kiddo! TTYL!

  3. nice work.

    Reply
  4. Wow…sort of an Ode To Vincent! Fabulous Bold, Brilliant, Vivid Color. Marvelous.

    Reply
    • Thank you for your continued support and encouragement, John. I’m honoured to have a great photographer like you in my corner ๐Ÿ™‚ Vincent is my all time favourite impressionist and I guess his influence came out of my subconcscious somehow. Anyway, I pleasantly surprised myself.

      Reply
  5. elizabethweaver

     /  June 9, 2012

    Beautiful work…especially love the orange.

    Reply
  6. Great pictures. I looked at them both close up and found the blue one the most fascinating All the different shapes and colours looked alive somehow.

    Reply
  7. It is so rich, one could eat it. I love palette knife painting; it does make the image come alive. For your first attempt, you’ve done well. Captured the soul of the flower. A sensuous feast.

    Reply
  8. messyme

     /  June 16, 2012

    You are blessed with a wonderful talent. I love the blue one myself (am partial to blues and greens and…). Oh well, love following your blog and watching your talent come alive in pictures.

    Reply
  9. These are gorgeous! Thanks for “liking” my recent post on “Living on the Edge of the Wild”. I have a post coming up called “Walking Among Flowers”–I’d love to use your sunflower as the lead illustration, if you’d be willing to let me. I could have it link back to this site.

    Reply
    • I’m very flattered! Thank you, Deborah! I would love to have my paintings on your blog. And I would also love a link back to my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me know when it’s up. Looking forward to checking it out ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  10. Thank you! I’ll let you know when it goes up.

    Reply
    • Sounds great ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • Wanted to let you know that my post โ€œWalking Among Flowersโ€ is going up tomorrow with some of your photos and paintings, as you generously gave me permission to do.

        Each picture gives full credit to EK Photos & Arts, and each links back to your blog. Plus thereโ€™s a thank-you credit line with your blog address at the end of the post.

        If you for any reason youโ€™d like me to take the pictures down, I willโ€”just let me know. I can plug in other photos of flowers. Itโ€™s just yours are much nicer J.

        Really appreciate this and hope you like the post.

        Deborah

        http://deborahbrasket.wordpress.com

      • Deborah, I absolutely love your post! Thank you so much for including my images. Please, keep them up there and use more for future posts. I’m so honored!

  11. I’m glad you liked the post! And thank you for letting me continue to use some on your images as needed–really appreciate that, they add so much to the post.

    Reply
  12. Yes I DO like these works. Flowers in art is a great interest of mine – once did a thesis on it! But alas, I can only photograph flowers; I don’t draw or paint them well. Wish I had your talent! Tamborine Dreaming is a blog I’ve started to celebrate the beautiful place I live, where both flowers AND art flourish. I also maintain two other blogs to deal just with plants – at http://www.wix.com/jrlakemedia/ezibooks and http://www.gardenezi@wordpress.com. Will soon post some pics of Australian rainforest flowers on to all my blogs so people like you can see how beautiful – and unappreciated – they are. Thanks you for inspiring me.

    Reply
  13. Both are beautiful but I still prefer the yellow one and its warmth. โ˜บThanks for stopping by!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

